About – Chinese

原聲童聲合唱團

介紹原聲

位於台灣南投縣的台灣第一高峰-玉山,聳立在海拔3,952米上,四周群山圍繞,青峰翠綠。在玉山的山腳下,隱藏在綠色大自然的懷抱中,座落著一所為原住民兒童所建立的特殊學校–原聲音樂學校。走進校園,你將被那陣陣穿過廊道的純淨和高亢的歌聲,所吸引、所感動。

音樂可以觸動,振奮,以及啟發人心,這也是原聲音樂學校以及原聲童聲合唱團成立的動機。成立於2008年的原聲童聲合唱團,是一個非營利性的特殊週末音樂學校,它的成立有兩個主要目標:

1)在貧困的原住民社區,通過培養有天賦的原住民兒童,達到社會改革的目的。

2)藉由成立兒童合唱團,以保存和發揚原住民的文化,及對此文化的自豪和認同。

原聲童聲合唱團的兒童年齡從9歲到13歲,他們之間的共同點是 – 儘管都是來自低收入的家庭,但是他們都是班上成績最優秀的孩子。

這些年來,原聲童聲合唱團的表演已經獲得了無數的獎項和讚譽。他們的故事,以及天使般的歌聲,遠近馳名,感動了無數的觀眾,獲得大家一致的好評,並得到國內的音樂大獎 – 金曲獎(相當於美國的格萊美獎)。

今年夏天,原聲兒童合唱團希望實現一個簡單的夢想 – 就是來美國一遊,讓國際的觀眾分享他們美妙的歌聲。

社會改革的使命

儘管座落在玉山寧靜的山下,原住民居住的部落仍是處於經濟落後,資源匱乏的環境中,酗酒也是他們普遍的問題。原住民的傳統文化,除了因為社區內的經濟問題外,也因著他們不再自豪於己身的文化,以及教育的式微而受到了考驗。台灣原住民的故事,就如同世界各地的原住民問題一樣。這些曾經令人感到驕傲和光榮的部落,現在卻都面臨在一個令人感到自卑、絕望和冷漠的貧困循環中。

原聲教育協會認為,在年輕的一代身上灌輸信心,是打破惡性循環和進入社會改革的關鍵。信義鄉的一個小學校長Bukut (馬彼得校長),是一位積極的社會改革倡導者。身為原住民的後裔,他親身經歷了在原住民部落成長,會面臨的內在以及外在的種種考驗。


582695_3927625547400_1139861845_n
原聲音樂學校提供輔導課程給信義鄉各地最優秀的學生,因合唱團的成立,需要到各地表演,正好可以進一步幫助這些孩子在文化的認同上建立自尊和信心。Bukut校長認為,“教育提供了台灣原住民改變命運的最好機會” ,他希望 “這些孩子能進入大學,追求自
己的夢想,並同時保持對部落的承諾,成為未來原住民的領導者”。

台灣原住民一向被認為具有很好的節奏感和天籟的美聲,他們這些擁有獨特和聲的歌曲,也受到不同文化的人們所讚賞。Bukut校長希望原聲童聲合唱團的孩子們,可以從觀眾對他們的表現所得到的讚賞和掌聲中,建立對於原住民認同的自信心和自豪感。

如今,原聲童聲合唱團已在各項的比賽中贏得了無數的獎項,他們的歌迷和支持者也在持續的增加中。在2009年,原聲不但榮獲了台灣的金曲獎(相當於美國的格萊美獎),也在同年發行了他們的第一個籌款CD專輯。更讓人感到驕傲的,原聲童聲合唱團還被邀請到2010年於中國舉行的上海世博會上表演。他們也曾到香港和泰國參加比賽,並榮獲了各種獎項。原聲童聲合唱團已朝著它的使命和目標,向前邁進了一大步。

堅持和承諾

395791_3924450668030_369798427_n

信義鄉位在海拔2,500米以上,是一個擁有1,422平方公里的廣闊的鄉鎮,山上的道路崎嶇而曲折,居民零星分布在這地區。原聲童聲合唱團像是一所有磁力的學校,吸引著學生們跨區來就學。這些學生來自11個不同的部落,17所不同的小學或中學。

他們利用週末和假日入住學校學習數學,閱讀,科學,英語,和音樂。在上學期間的週末,需要出動三輛巴士,把不同的部落的學生帶到原聲音樂學校上課和練唱,一些住在較偏遠的孩子,往往單趟的車程就得花上1.5小時 。週六和週日滿滿的課程安排,對這些孩子而言,是一種挑戰,也是一種犧牲,但他們仍然信守承諾繼續堅持下去。

Bukut 的夢想

“我有一個夢想,就是幫助原住民部族向上發展,但我需要更多的部族領袖一同努力。若是在一個鄉鎮裏多了一個博士,那只是杯水車薪, 不會造成什麼大的影響。但若是一個受過高等教育的人,願意為一個部落的村莊付出時,他則可以改變整個環境. . .教育,是改變台灣原住民命運的最好機會“。 – Bukut

成功沒有捷徑。Bukut校長和原聲的教師和志工們認為,當孩子感受到成就感和自信心時,他們將變得更獨立,對未來也將充滿了希望…… 藉由每一次合唱團的表演,孩子們有機會到部落村莊以外的地方去做交流,擴展他們的視野,並且體驗不同的世界。

原聲音樂學校已經看到了他們的表演所帶來的正面影響。許多學生也已能順利的進入大學,其中3個學生甚至還進入台灣最負盛名的大學 – 國立台灣大學。毫無疑問的,從原聲音樂學校學生的成功例子中看出,音樂和教育的相結合,是能夠造就出有自信的成功者。

關於慧智文教基金會

慧智文教基金會(WCEO)是一個非營利組織,其使命是為灣區的孩子傳播和弘揚中國文化及教育,其目標、信念與在文化的認同信心建立上,與原聲是相似的。目前,WCEO為原聲兒童合唱團,於今年夏天來灣區表演,正努力的向各方籌款。欲了解WCEO相關的服務內容,請上網 www.wceo.org 查詢。

Advertisements

About

Vox Nativa Children’s Choir

Introducing Vox Nativa

In the Nantou province of Taiwan, stands the island’s tallest mountain, Yu Shan. The name, Yu Shan or “Jade Mountain”, describes the scenery with perfect imagery. The rocky mountain towers over its surroundings at 3,952m (12965ft) in elevation and is covered in luscious foliage. At the foothills of the Jade Mountain, hidden behind nature’s green embrace, sits a special school for aboriginal children. As you step foot onto the campus, the pure and powerful sounds of Vox Nativa Children’s Choir surround you as it echoes through the hallways.

Music can move, uplift, inspire, and empower – these powerful effects of music were the motivations behind the Vox Nativa Children’s Choir and School. Founded in 2008, Vox Nativa is a nonprofit special weekend music school with two main objectives:

1) To achieve social reform within the poverty stricken aboriginal populations and communities through cultivation of gifted aboriginal children.

2) To preserve and promote aboriginal culture, pride, and identity through a children’s choir group.

Children of Vox Nativa range from 9 years old to 13 years old and have one thing in common – they are aboriginal children who earn top of the class grades despite coming from low income families.

Vox Nativa’s performance has gained numerous awards and praise through the years. The choir’s story paired with the angelic and inspiring voices of the children have touched audiences near and far. The children’s caliber of talent, tireless hard work, and dedication have earned them critical acclaim as well as domestic musical awards such as the Golden Melody Awards (the equivalent to US Grammy Awards).

This summer, we hope to fulfill one of Vox Nativa’s simple dreams – to tour the US and share their voices and songs with international audiences.

A Mission of Social Reform

Despite the serene environment, the aboriginal communities of Jade Mountain live in rough economic conditions, inadequate homes, and volatile communities where alcoholism is common among citizens. Along with the social economic issues present within these communities, the cultural traditions of aboriginal people are also suffering as cultural pride and education diminishes. The story of Taiwanese aboriginals is similar to indigenous communities throughout the world. The once proud and glorious communities now harbor strong feelings of inferiority, hopelessness, and apathy which creates a vicious cycle of poverty.

Vox Nativa believes that instilling confidence within the youngest generation is the key to breaking the vicious cycle and the key to social reform. Bukut, a principal of one of the elementary schools in the XinYi Township of Jade Mountain, is a strong advocate for this type of social reform. Being of aboriginal descent, he personally experienced the internal and external struggles of growing up in the aboriginal communities of Jade Mountain.

582695_3927625547400_1139861845_nVox Nativa offers supplemental academic classes for top students around XinYi Township of Jade Mountain. The choir emerged from the need to find activities that can further help these children build self-esteem and confidence in their aboriginal identity. Bukut believes that “education provides the greatest opportunity for changing the fate of Taiwan’s Aborigines” and hopes that “these children can get into college, pursue their dreams while staying committed to their communities and becoming future leaders of indigenous people”.

Taiwanese aboriginals are known for having great rhythm and strong vocals. Recreational and ceremonial songs carry beautiful and unique harmonies that can be appreciated by all cultures. Bukut hopes that the children of Vox Nativa can build confidence and pride in their aboriginal identity when they experience appreciation and applause for their performance from audiences everywhere.

Today, Vox Nativa’s performance has won numerous awards in competition. Their fans and supporters grow enthusiastically. They have been honored in Taiwan’s 2009 Golden Melody Awards (the equivalent to US Grammy Awards), and they released their first fundraising CD album that same year. Vox Nativa was invited to perform in Expo 2010 held in Shanghai, China. They also competed in Hong Kong and Thailand and won various awards. Vox Nativa has made great strides toward its mission and goals.

Perseverance and Commitment

395791_3924450668030_369798427_nXinYi Township is a vast area (550 square miles) with elevations higher than 2500m (8202ft). The roads are rugged and winding, and settlements are widely spread. Since Vox Nativa is a magnet school, it draws students from across district lines. The recruits are elementary or middle school students from 11 different tribal villages and 17 different schools.

The students spend their weekends and breaks living at the school to learn math, reading, science, English, and music. During the school year, three chartered buses take children from different settlements to the school to attend classes and choir practice on the weekends. For some, these are 1.5 hour bus rides each way. Turning Saturdays and Sundays into fully packed school days is a challenge and a huge sacrifice, but the children remain committed and they continue to persevere..

Bukut’s Dream

“I have a dream. I want to foster upward social mobility among aborigines, and I need more tribal leaders here to do that. When you add another PhD to a city, it’s just a drop in a bucket — no big deal. But when a tribal village gets someone who is highly educated, it can change the whole environment…Education provides the greatest opportunity for changing the fate of Taiwanese aborigines.” – Bukut

There are no shortcuts to success. Bukut and Vox Nativa teachers and volunteers committ their days to teaching and guiding Vox Nativa students. They believe that when children start feeling a sense of accomplishment and confidence, they become more independent and grow hopeful of the future.. With each choir performance, the children have the opportunity to travel outside of their tribal villages and communities to broaden their horizons and experience what the world has to offer.

Vox Nativa has already seen the positive effects of their program. The school has already been able to send many students to college — three of which are attending Taiwan’s most prestigious university, National Taiwan University. The success that the students of Vox Nativa have achieved, leaves no doubt that combining music and education leads to more confident and successful people.

About Wisdom Culture Education Organization

Wisdom Culture Education Organization (WCEO) is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to spread and promote Chinese culture and education to children around the San Francisco Bay Area. WCEO’s goals and beliefs are similar to that of Vox Nativa in that education and cultural identity builds confidence. This year, WCEO is helping Vox Nativa’s fundraising efforts and is hosting the group for its Bay Area performance this summer. To find out more about WCEO, visit: www.wceo.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s